## Gordon Jameson Memorial Trophy - Solway Autograss Club

On the Sunday 10th of September Solway Autograss Club competed for the Gordon Jameson Memorial Trophy which rewards the best Solway driver in one meeting. Arthur Cunningham was the first to win it then Mark Johnston won it the following year. Last year Andrew Davidson from Penrith won it. Who was going to win it this year? We had the blessing of the best weather of the season on a bright sunny morning with the track in pristine condition thanks to the hard work from the Track Team.

As usual the Class 1's were the first to go. SL44 Michael Robson was impressive all day winning all his heats and the final. SL103 Paul Hodgson being runner up in all the heats and final.

Class 2's SL60
Andrew Davidson has done really well again this season taking the maximum points from the new club champion. SL12 Arthur Cunningham could not keep up the pace from the lively youngster in

Sunday

9am - 8pm



Gordons' daughters and grandchildren presenting the trophy to Andrew Davidson L to R: Sarah, Chelsea, Paige, Victoria, Lauren, Wendy and Daniel

front of him and his frustration got the better of him in the final.

SL3 Stuart Lewthwaite who made a clean sweep of all his races led Class 3's all day. 2005 champion SL66 Mark Little did not have a good first heat but managed second place in the final.

Next up was the Stock Hatches with so many cars available they had to be split into two races. SL626 Kevin Brough never turned a wrong wheel all day and won the final with ease. YD40 Peter Beecroft was consistent all day and did well to beat the Solway drivers into second place in the final.

Class 6 was next to line up again they were split into two races WR106 Dave Widdup won the final but with the memorial race only for Solway drivers we had to look at the second place driver SL476 Paul Sharp who took the reserve places all day.

Class 8's and 9's ran together along with the F600 of SL171
Peter Cobb. Although SL80 Phil Talbot had a shocking couple of heats he finally got his special into first place in the final. SL50 Steve Hartley battled all day with SL16 Mark Dalgleish swapping places in their heats but finally got the better of him beating him in the final to gain second place.

Ladies SL12 Lin
Cunningham did not
have a good third heat
but managed to cross the
line in first place. SL103
Fiona Hodgson is really
doing well in her debut
season winning the two
heats but just could not
keep SL12 behind her in
the final.

Juniors have been very well supported all season and we had split them into two races. SL22 Gav Marks just needing a handful of points to take the crown again did really well considering he was not

VISA

100% fit after his recent accident. He did more than required taking the maximum 109 points. SL58 Eleanor Brown did well to take second place after having two thirds in her heats.

So now we had the finalists for the Gordon Jameson Memorial race.

Class 1 - SL44, 2 -SL60, 3 - SL3, 6 - SL476, SH - SL626, 8 - SL80, 9 – SL8. Missing was SL177. With handicap races the cars start from different carefully calculated sections of the track. Early favourites were SL80 Phil Talbot from Kendal and former holder SL60 Andrew Davidson. Lap 5 where we lost one of the favourites SL80, now we only had four cars left SL44 being the less powerful car was in fourth SL626 third SL3 in second and SL60 still leading. In the final three laps SL3 closed down on SL60 and it was a close finish at the end with SL60 taking it a cars length from SL3.

For more details you can visit our website which is www.solwayautograss.co.uk.



CASH MACHINE @